none
Azure Data Lake - Best Practice Patterns?

Question

• I'm new to Azure and new to Azure Data Lake Store & Analytics, but have been using SQL Server & BI tools since MS SQL Server 7.  I am looking for advice on the best architecture or implementation pattern for consuming customer data into a cloud-data solution using Azure.

Requirements

We receive multiple files (typically CSV and XLSX, but could be other formats like XML, PDF, or DOC) from clients.  We will need to 1) allow clients to easily and reliably send us files daily; 2) ingest these files into a relational data staging area; and 3) import these files into a central data warehouse and data marts used for analytics and reporting.

Proposed Implementation

The implementation I thought would work best would be to use Azure Data Lake store for accepting files from clients since there will be multiple formats and layouts that cannot be predicted ahead of time (and our business model does not impose or require rigid standard formats for clients to conform to) so storing in their native format will allow us to on-board new clients as quickly as possible.  We will have data analysts dedicated to mapping new file layouts initially (new clients will most likely have consistent layouts/file types once they are on-boarded).  This mapping would be done using some combination of Azure Data Factory, SSIS, and/or U-SQL to get data from the Data Lake store into the SQL Server staging database.  From there we would using Azure Data Factory or SSIS to populate data warehouse and dimensional data marts.

My questions to the experts are these:

1. Does my implementation strategy make sense, or are there better patterns or practices I should be considering?
    2. If we pursue the implementation I am suggesting then: