Permissions to Linked Server (via guest?) RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

I've been attempting to Linked Server to one of our production servers (2005), creation of the link works when I set the permissions level to "Current User"  (I'm an admin on all servers).

Scenario A:  I created a link an instance of 2012 running on my local PC.  I can see all dbs/tables/data on the production server through that link.

Scenario B:  On a Server running 2012, I set up a link just like on my local instance.  I could only see some db's and tables.  The same thing happened on our beta server running 2005.

I noticed on the DB's I could not see, account [Guest] was missing.  After adding [Guest] I could then see the tables (on the production server), but not data.  Adding read permissions to [Guest] let me see the data.

I'd rather not give [guest] global permissions, is there a fix or suitable workaround?

Thanks for any advice!

Mac McCaskie

Friday, January 11, 2013 8:26 PM

Answers

• On the servers where you are an admin (which I think is all of them), are connecting to SQL Server using Windows Authentication, and connecting because you have a login under your own name, which is a member of the sysadmin fixed server role? You should.

But if you are relying on a SQL Server Windows Authentication login for BUILTIN\ADMINISTRATORS then your problem is that your connection is not using your local administrator credentials. Then it would try to get you in as a guest, which is apparently working.

So, if this second scenario sounds correct, resolve it by connecting to the SQL Server and adding a login for your domain user account, so you don't need administrator credentials.

Rick Byham, Microsoft, SQL Server Books Online, Implies no warranty

• Marked as answer by Mac_McCaskie Saturday, January 12, 2013 4:18 PM
    Friday, January 11, 2013 9:01 PM
  • To figure out who the remote SQL Server thinks you are, execute:

SELECT SUSER_SNAME() AS YourLogin, USER_NAME() AS YourUser;