locked
DN attribute not defined error AD on Win Server 2003 RRS feed

  • Question

  • User-1152966904 posted

     Hi.
    I am trying to do a bulk import of user accounts using the CSVDE tool for active directory. I have a .csv file and am doing this:

    csvde -i -f ExampleUsers.xls and receive the following error output:

    Connecting to "(null)"
    Logging in as current user using SSPI
    Importing directory from file "ExampleUsers.xls"
    Invalid file format. DN Attribute not defined
    0 entries modified successfully.
    An error has occurred in the program

    This is the file i am using:

    Container/OU First Name Last Name Common Name DN Logon Name Groups
    "cn=Users,dc=domain20,dc=net" John Adams John Adams jadams jadams@domain20.net NewCoResearch
    "cn=Users,dc=domain20,dc=net" Frank LiebermanFrank Lieberman fliebermanflieberman@domain20.net NewCoResearch
    "cn=Users,dc=domain20,dc=net" Linda Peters Linda Peters lpeters lpeters@domain20.net NewCoResearch
    "cn=Users,dc=domain20,dc=net" Esther Mets Esther Mets emets emets@domain20.net NewCoResearch
    "cn=Users,dc=domain20,dc=net" Tim Daniels Tim Daniels tdaniels tdaniels@domain20.net NewCoResearch
    "cn=Users,dc=domain20,dc=net" Charlie Brown Charlie Brown cbrown cbrown@domain20.net NewCoResearch
    "cn=Users,dc=domain20,dc=net" John Doe John Doe jdoe jdoe@domain20.net NewCoResearch
    "cn=Users,dc=domain20,dc=net" Joe Conrad Joe Conrad jconrad jconrad@domain20.net NewCoResearch
    "cn=Users,dc=domain20,dc=net" Britney Simpson Britney Simpson bsimpson bsimpson@domain20.net NewCoResearch
    "cn=Users,dc=domain20,dc=net" Rex Smith Rex Smith rsmith rsmith@domain20.net NewCoResearch



    Any help is appreciated.

    Thursday, November 26, 2009 11:21 PM

Answers

  • User-1152966904 posted

    I figured it out. I failed to create the OU in the root directory of the domain.  

    • Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Monday, November 30, 2009 10:35 AM