Is Media Foundation ready for software development now? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all

I'm new to Media Foundation and spent several days looking for and studying its information.
      As you know, we can find very few documents currently. The main source is the MSDN
      online version and is still very immature.

Since Vista has already claimed MF as its next-generation platform for high qualitiy
      multimedia presentation and the PMP/PE forced people who want to take advantage
      by OS-native protection to use Media Foundation instead of DShow (as you know,
      PMP only supports MF.), I think people who want to develop multimedia applications
      (well, maybe for Bluray or HD) should consider now to change from DShow to MF.

But from the documents I read and from this forum I saw lots of unresolved issues
      (including the multiple input issue -- I can't imagine how this is going to happen.),
      and each release of SDK changes a lot.

So here is my question, I hope someone familiar with current MF can help me
      to decide if it is worthy to keep working on MF:
    • Do you think Media Foundation is ready now for software development now?
    • Can we find a stable platform (w/SDK's) to write MF application, MFT's, Media sources, and even PMP? (I've tried Vista32 and Vista64. The 64 bit is really a disaster... Even with 32 bit + VS2005 I got many problems. And well, what about the PMP? I can't even "try" unless I pay lots for the license?)
    • Can we expect our effort now will not be useless in final version of MF? 
    • Are there any commercial applications using MF architecture now? Or any company is already working on it? (I know there's Media Player and WMV -- but WMV and WMP are both too limited in function and they look more like MF's own demonstration. Do any major DVD player companies provide MF version now?)
      I'd really like to write applications with premium content and make it ready just when