How can I create music streaming service using azure media services? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, I'm still new to azure, after doing some research and testing, I found out that Azure don't support music streaming where mp3 song uploaded weren't supported.

Just wondering, is it true or is there any ways that I can deploy music streaming service something like spotify do but not that advance? I'm trying on a school based project. Thanks for the guides and I really appreciate it! 

Saturday, April 4, 2015 6:27 PM

Answers

• It really depends on what you mean in your case by "Streaming".  Is there a specific streaming protocol that you are looking to support?  Remember that "streaming" is different from just progressive download of a file from a web server.  If you are looking to just "download and play" an mp3 file, blob storage works just fine.  If you have a requirement for an actual streaming protocol like MPEG-DASH, or Apple HLS, then Azure Media Services can help. 

If you are streaming content to an iOS device that is longer than 5 minutes in duration, Apple prefers that you use their HLS protocol.   It can handle audio only streams.

For streaming in Azure Media Services, you can encode you media into a single MP4 audio file and then request the Streamig URL to play it back in either HLS or MPEG-DASH format depending on which client you are targeting. 

To play it back in MPEG-DASH, use the latest DASH.js player.

Monday, April 6, 2015 4:24 PM

All replies

• Hi

I think you can use the Azure Blob Storage for streaming purposes.

Take a look at it's documentation here:

http://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/documentation/articles/storage-dotnet-how-to-use-blobs/

Regards

Aram

Saturday, April 4, 2015 7:49 PM