none
Can I write a VB script so that snoozing a task automatically updates its reminder time? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello.  Is it possible to create a VB script such that snoozing a task in the reminders window would automatically sets the task's reminder day and time to that new time?  If so, how might I approach that?  Maybe a script that sets the reminder time to the snooze time, then have that script run every time Outlook is opened?  Or better, every time a task is snoozed?

I'm very new to VB and its power, so recently I have been toying with ideas on how it can make many of my everyday tasks easier.  I posted this question in the TechCenter forums, at Microsoft Office --> Outlook IT Pro Discussions.  They said I could not do this with built-in features, and pointed me here.

Thanks in advance.

Monday, August 15, 2016 1:20 PM

Answers

• Hi cagross,

You could use VB.net or VBA. With VBA, you could implement in Outlook product, with vb.net, I think you will need to create Outlook VSTO solution. Both of them use the similar Outlook Object.

You could change TaskItem.ReminderTime Property (Outlook) while Application.Reminder Event (Outlook) fires.

>> If so, I'd need to address this (later of course.)

For this requirement, you could check the TaskItem.ReminderTime value in Application.Reminder Event, and decide which value set for TaskItem.

Best Regards,

Edward

We are trying to better understand customer views on social support experience, so your participation in this interview project would be greatly appreciated if you have time. Thanks for helping make community forums a great place.
    Click HERE to participate the survey.

Wednesday, August 17, 2016 8:45 AM

All replies

• Hi cagross,

>>Is it possible to create a VB script such that snoozing a task in the reminders window would automatically sets the task's reminder day and time to that new time?