none
Windows kernel driver development environment RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I am a total noob for windows driver development and recently I am assigned a project to develop drivers for windows 10 and 8.1

I have a PC with windows 8.1 and visual studio 2017. I have WinDbg. I have tried to do local debugging but I was not successful and somewhere it was recommended not to do it as its very limiting.

1.What would be the best setup to do kernel driver development with least hassle.

2.Does Os loader works in windows 8.1?

3.What are the things I need to keep in my mind before advancing?

Can I use windows 7 as a target, and develop and debug drivers for windows 10? On below link its said that windows 7 have bugs regarding WDK Test Target Setup.

https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/windowsdesktop/en-US/f446de0e-e18f-45ff-8add-ed0a428d2762/wdk-test-target-setup-x64-fails-when-run-on-windows-7-computer?forum=wdk

Kindly show me the path. I am trying too many things and going nowhere?

Regards,

Mrigendra Chaubey

Tuesday, March 13, 2018 7:30 AM

All replies

• What kind of driver are you writing?

d -- This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.

Tuesday, March 13, 2018 4:27 PM
  • I am trying to write kernel drivers.

I reached till here.

Windows 8.1 64 bit host.

windows 10 64 bit target inside virtualbox.

Once windows 10 is installed, go to Devices -> Run insert guest additions CD image. After this enable drag and drop.

Install visual studio 2017 on host. All tools will be installed with it.

Path for 64 bit WinDbg

C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Windows Kits\Debugging Tools for Windows (X64)

Find WinDbg (usually above path) and get a VirtualBox image of your target - called “Debuggee” - installed in VirtualBox. Then open the virtual machine configuration and activate a serial port (COM1).

Important part is serial connection between host and target.

In the “Serial Ports” configuration select