none
Trying to create a seperate form for settings which carries over settings to other forms? RRS feed

• Question

• I'm a Level 3 student and I'm having issues with this program. I wanted to have a form to let the user set the background and font colour. I thought I could have a public variable for bgcolour and font colour, with an integer representing the user's choice in a list box. The weird thing is that making the changes works within the 'settings' but when I attempt to return to the main form nothing happens - as in I stay on the settings form. 

Sunday, November 26, 2017 12:55 PM

Answers

• There is always ApplicationSettings/PropertyBinding where you can bind a property to a user setting (stored in app.config at runtime, not design time).

On each form, set Application.Setting/PropertyBinding to a user setting e.g.

Then in a form call another form to set the background color for all forms which will be remembered session to session.

Public Class Form1
        Private Sub Button1_Click(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click
            Dim f As New ColorForm
            Try
                f.ShowDialog()
            Finally
                f.Dispose()
            End Try
        End Sub
    End Class

In the form ColorForm we place a ColorDialog onto the form and use it to set the background color for all open forms. Of course when a form that uses the same Application.Setting/PropertyBinding it will have the new background color too.

Public Class ColorForm
        Private Sub Button1_Click(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click
            If ColorDialog1.ShowDialog = DialogResult.OK Then
                My.Settings.UserBackgroundColor = ColorDialog1.Color
                My.Application.OpenForms.Cast(Of Form).Select(Function(f) f).ToList.ForEach(
                    Sub(f)
                        If f.Name <> "ColorForm" Then
                            f.BackColor = ColorDialog1.Color
                        End If