none
Deliver a file to different location selectively RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

Can BizTalk put a file to different locations in different machines on the network selectively? I have a message that I can convert to a flat file. Depending on the value of a field in the message being A, B or C, I would like to deliver the file to workstation A, B or C. How do I built the intelligence in BizTalk to allow me to achieve my goal? Group port does not seem to work as it sends the file to all members in the group which is not what expected. I am new to Biztalk.

Thanks

Tuesday, May 3, 2011 3:30 PM

Answers

• The field under consideration must be promoted. In that case in your send port group you can set appropriate filter on each send port and accomplish what you want to.
    Please mark as answer if this helps you. Thanks and warm regards Ambar Ray Solution Architect - Microsoft Technologies
    • Marked as answer by FrankTo Tuesday, May 3, 2011 5:24 PM
    Tuesday, May 3, 2011 3:58 PM
  • For promoting fields read Property Schemas, How to Create Property Schemas and Promoting Properties on MSDN. Once the properties are promoted to the message context you can create different send ports and based on the filters you can output the message on the relevant send port.

For e.g. Your message field "PromotedField" has value A so it should be output to SendPort A. The SendPort A should have the network file folder configured. In the SendPort properties go to Filter. In the filter expression click on the property dropdown and locate your promoted property and set the value A. Repeat these for Send ports B and C. For more read Adding a Static Send Port Using BizTalk Explorer, Adding a Filter to a Send Port for Content-Based Routing Using BizTalk Explorer and How to Configure Filters for a Send Port on MSDN.

Abdul Rafay - MVP & MCTS BizTalk Server
    blog: http://abdulrafaysbiztalk.wordpress.com/
    Please indicate "Mark as Answer" if this post has answered the question.