universal MVVM : Usercontrol using MVVM

General discussion

• Hi,

I am doing RND on MVVM for my new project. I am new in MVVM. My question is .

" I have 4 Buttons , Each button has there own functionality. For example I have Button1 , Button2, Button3 and Button4. Button1 redirect me on Page1

Button2 redirect me on Page2

Button3 redirect me on Page3

Button4 redirect me on Page4 .

Before redirect to next page there is a selection popup. The items of popup selection is same for all so I have created a usercontrol for it. So Button1 click then open a selection popup , user will select some data then redirect to Page1. All Buttons do same things.

I want to do this things with help of MVVM So can any one give guide me how to achieve this thing. "

shah

Hi also chekc these links please Passing parameters to View-Model from View with command.
    • Edited by MauliKShah Monday, January 12, 2015 11:54 AM
    Monday, January 12, 2015 11:47 AM

All replies

• Hi,

You can bind the Command property of the button to any property that returns ICommand. Prism implements a nice convenient command called DelegateCommand that is very easy to use:

public ICommand MyButtonClickCommand
            {
                get { return new DelegateCommand<object>(FuncToCall, FuncToEvaluate); }
            }

private void FuncToCall(object context)
            {
                //this is called when the button is clicked
            }

private bool FuncToEvaluate(object context)
            {
                //this is called to evaluate whether FuncToCall can be called
                //for example you can return true or false based on some validation logic
                return true;
            }