none
Method Overloading with Data type as Object RRS feed

• Question

• Hey everyone, I am new to C# and trying to figure my way out with method overloading.

I have two methods:

public int multiply(int num1 int num2)
    { return num1* num2; }

public object multiply(object num1 object num2)
    { return 1; }

when I call the method multiply, then which method will be called ? If it is the data type Object, could you please explain why? and how could I change it that it calls the method with data type int? Similarly vice versa.

I appreciate any and all help I can get :)

Tuesday, February 25, 2020 9:58 AM

Answers

• Hi LordPhyber,
    Based on your description, it will call the corresponding method according to the type of the parameters you pass in.
    And you can define methods as static methods, like the following code:

public static int multiply(int num1,int num2)
    { return num1 * num2; }

public static object multiply(object num1, object num2)
    { return 1; }

Object is a base type of all other types and the object types can be assigned values of any other types, value types, reference types, predefined or user-defined types. As shown in the following code:

object o1 = a;
    object o2 = 99.55;
    object o3 = 5;

Best Regards,
    Daniel Zhang

MSDN Community Support
    Please remember to click "Mark as Answer" the responses that resolved your issue, and to click "Unmark as Answer" if not. This can be beneficial to other community members reading this thread. If you have any compliments or complaints to MSDN Support, feel free to contact MSDNFSF@microsoft.com.

Wednesday, February 26, 2020 7:27 AM