Access to workflow queues from external processes RRS feed

• Question

• I'm having a hard time figuring out some things about the WorkflowQueuingService. What I'm trying to do is use queues in a custom activity to enqueue and dequeue messages being transferred between the workflow and a web service that is hosting the workflow. I know there are other ways to do this, such as using SendActivity and ReceiveActivity, but I think I have some good reasons to do things the way I am (I have 30 years of experience building network applications).

There are two things that sort of baffle me. The first is that, even though I am starting the workflow runtime from within my web service, I can't seem to access the workflow queuing service. When I do a GetWorkflowService<WorkflowQueuingService> it returns null, even though if I start a workflow instance in that runtime the activities in that instance have access to the queuing service. I'm wondering if there is something I need to do to initialize the queuing service in the runtime so that it is accesible outside of the activities.

Related to this, I don't understand why there is an EnqueueItem function in the workflow instance, but no DequeueItem. For example, I've seen how to respond to an OnIdle event from an activity, and in that I can get access to the queues to communicate with the activity from my web service. I can then enqueue an inbound message to the activity, but I can't dequeue an outbound message (although I can see it using GetWorkflowQueueData. I have to dequeue it from within the activity itself.