Direct2D: Custom source effect RRS feed

• Question

• Is it even possible to create a custom source effect (like flood  or turbulence) using Direct2D?

I have some experience on custom effects, I have created quite a few but they always need at least one input source.

I wasn't able to find any information on custom source effects at all. Does anyone have any information at all about it?

• Edited by Kostas_76 Monday, September 19, 2016 1:24 PM
    Monday, September 19, 2016 1:22 PM

Answers

• Having researched this for you, I have to agree, there is not a lot of information to learn from. Apart from the link that Li posted and the D2DCustomEffects sample, there is nothing else that appears to be helpful.

It might be worth posting in the Windows Desktop SDK forum and hope to get the attention of someone knowledgeable like Chuck Walbourn.

Sorry.

Cheers
    Eddie

• Proposed as answer by DotNet Wang Tuesday, September 27, 2016 7:25 AM
    • Marked as answer by Xavier Xie-MSFT Tuesday, October 11, 2016 1:45 AM
    Sunday, September 25, 2016 5:54 PM
  • Thanks.
    • Marked as answer by Kostas_76 Thursday, November 24, 2016 12:58 PM
    Sunday, September 25, 2016 6:58 PM

All replies

• Hi kostas_76,

thanks for posting here.

Direct2D ships with a library of effects that perform a variety of common image operations. See the built-in effects topic for the complete list of effects. For functionality that cannot be achieved with the built-in effects, Direct2D allows you to write your own custom effects using standard HLSL. You can use these custom effects alongside the built-in effects that ship with Direct2D.

For more information, please refer to this document.

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/jj710194(v=vs.85).aspx

Hope this could be help of you.

Best Regards,
    Li Wang