How to work on network shares with VS2008 projects RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

After many hours I managed to get the configuration tool for .NET 2.0 Framework installed on my new Win7-64 machine.

I'm now having problem to set my network share as trusted enough to hold my VS-project.

well, to be 100% honest, I'm only guessing this is the issue, I can open the project, I can work on it, add pages, codes, sub-projects etc... , but I cannot show an aspx page in browser, which is a handy function without having to compile all.

I'm getting a "server-error in application, security bla bla" all in swedish thanks to Bill Gates so I cannot pick some parts from it and google the solution.....

It's all working fine from my old WinXP machine, but I'm really interested in moving forward into win7

Yes, I am starting to get in a really bad mode, developing web apps is what I do for a living, and this empty new web-app is now in the value of soon 2 full days cost and it doesn't contain anything.....

Does anyone know a 100% workable way to get this show on the road, even if this mean shuting down the security, I really do trust my own server.

I have tried the conf tool MSC and CASPOL, both are adding security registration, but nothing happens in the real world.

Rgds

Kjell

Friday, July 23, 2010 11:30 AM

Answers

• I'm starting to get used to answer my own problems. :-)

I finally figured out some pieces of the problem, I do believe that MS has missed something here.

First I had gigant problems to install a configuration tool for .NET 2.0 due to MS has superceded the original package with either Win2008+.NET3.5 or Win7+.NET3.5 and left out the configuration tool !?!?!  that must have been a mistake.

anyway, now I found out that a Win7-64 actually has 2 Framework areas, (86) and (64)   Framework vs Framework64

The above tool MSCORCFG will be able to work on the (86) area, but not the (64) area