none
VS 2013 Ultimate - Open website = Not responding

Question

• Hi all,

I work in IT at a university and we are having issues with the Ultimate version of VS 2013 on Windows 8.1

Whenever the students load up the program and Open website... they navigate to their z: drive to select their lab work, when they press OK it puts Visual Studio into Not Responding and will not recover. Event viewer reports it as Application Hang. 

I asked them to copy it to the desktop and go through open website and try the desktop folder and it works no problem - it is definately an issue when they select work on their personal space network drive.

Does anyone have any info on why this occurs? 

PC specs are i7s, 16gb with Radeon graphics. All drivers are up to date, however the application isn't, it still hangs after updates anyway.

Wednesday, May 11, 2016 12:18 PM

Answers

• Hi BCU-Chris,

>>I had another issue where in Toolbox, Data, AccessDataSource was not showing up as normal

For this issue, please try to reset your toolbox (Right click your toolbox->Reset your Toolbox)

In addition, since one thread for one issue, for your new issue. I suggest you'd better post a new thread in our forum. We will follow up it.

Thanks for your understanding.

Best Regards,

Lake Xiao

Friday, May 13, 2016 1:44 AM

All replies

• Hi all,

I work in IT at a university and we are having issues with the Ultimate version of VS 2013 on Windows 8.1

Whenever the students load up the program and Open website... they navigate to their z: drive to select their lab work, when they press OK it puts Visual Studio into Not Responding and will not recover. Event viewer reports it as Application Hang. 

I asked them to copy it to the desktop and go through open website and try the desktop folder and it works no problem - it is definately an issue when they select work on their personal space network drive.

Does anyone have any info on why this occurs?