MVP Pattern, Who drives the Views RRS feed

• Question

•  

Hi all,

I'm new to this Model View Presenter pattern and like the idea allot. However I'm running into problems when I do anything more complex that using an application with a single form. This is a WinForms application, at the moment.

My question is who drives the view. What I mean by this is; lets say you have a Windows Form with a Button, which when clicked shows you an Options Dialog for that Form.

My idea is that I pass the button's click event along to the Presenter as say a ShowOptionDialog event. It's then the Presenter job to create the new Presenter for the new Dialog View. Since the new Presenter knows which type of View Interface the new dialog is coupled to, the Presenter would then request to the View that it wants a View of say type IOptionsView via a CreateView function on the parent views interface. It's then up to the View to create the correct Form that implements the requested Interface. When the View has been created, it's IOptionsView interface is passed back to the presenter and the presenter then hooks the IOptionsView interface to the new presenter and on we go.

This way it's the presenter that's in charge of application flow, not the view. Also this makes the view even dummer, since it's one less decision the view has to make + the presenter can be tested even more.

Another example would be of say a wizard style view where the sub views need to be shown in a particular order. Do you really want the view to decide this order?

With all of the the MVP examples out there that show more than one view (there aren't many), it's the view's job to create the presenter and attach itself to the view, which means the view is essentially driving the application.

Does this sound like a good approach or should the Views always dictate which view/presenter should be shown due to some user interaction.

Any thoughts, welcomed

Regards

Neal

Saturday, December 8, 2007 11:27 AM

Answers