A question about designing relationships RRS feed

• Question

• I have a database design where I'm struggling to implement some table relationships.

One of the tables has to refer to a table that contains addresses, but it needs to refer to the addresses in a specific way. I need two addresses and they exist for very different reasons, so I can't use a 1:M relationship because I can't then tell the difference between the two addresses. I can't extend the addresses table in order to store some sort of differentiator because the address table is used elsewhere.

What is the best way for me to define this, not just in terms of storage in the tables but also in terms of the relationship? I'm a real novice at using SQL Server Management Studio and, so far, all I've been able to define is 1:M relationships.

Ask questions if I haven't provided enough information or clarity ;-)

Thanks.

Philip

Wednesday, February 15, 2012 4:51 PM

Answers

• Here's where i'm getting stuck. :)

- customer can have multiple billing addresses and multiple shipping addresses.
    - supplier can have multiple addresses

-So, based on the previous discussion, there should be a column in the CUSTOMER table for the billing addresses and a separate column in the CUSTOMER table for the shipping addresses. There would be a single column in the SUPPLIER table.

If a customer has one billing address and one shipping address, there should be one COLUMN for each in the Customer TABLE:

Customer
    ------------
    Id
    Name
    Address_Billing
    Address_Shipping

And similarly for the supplier address.

If they may have multiple billing addresses, and multiple shipping addresses, a child TABLE is used, as Sandeep suggested:

Customer_Address_Shipping
    -------------------------------------
    Customer (FK Customer)
    Address (FK Address)

Customer_Address_Billing
    Customer (FK Customer)
    Address (FK Address)

And, again, same for supplier.