Issue with background and background-repeat attributes (tbc) RRS feed

• Question

• Please bear with me as I am new to Expression Web 4. I am webmaster for a non-profit. The site I inherited was something of a mess. I've cleaned it up a lot, but in the process broke one thing I'm so far unable to fix. The site uses ConstantContact to gather names for a mailing list. There is (not quite working now) a quite attractive button one clicks on to join the mailing list. The button is created, best I can tell, with a fairly complex table structure, with numerous Table, TR and TD tag entries followed by a series of gifs with statements like the following -

background="imgssl.constantcontact.com/ui/images/visitor/bevel_bg_right_blue.gif"

There are 8 of those gifs. Together the effect, when it worked, is the impression of an almost 3 dimensional button with rounded corners. The issue I'm having, I think, has to do with the background attribute. The center of the button shows white rather than the intended blue background. I think I need to be repeating those tiny gifs in the cells but I can't work out how to do it. In the tag properties panel the background attribute shows in a Misc category rather than an actual Attribute. The background attribute appears to only apply at the "body" level. And here is where I may have gone astray. In the original web site there was a CSS "body" tag defined for each page that had two attributes. One was 

background-image: url("page.html") (where page was the name of the web page) and
    background-repeat: repeat

I created a dynamic web template for the site (there was already a style sheet), and as part of that removed each of those individual page body tags. I have tried reintroducing them in the editable region of the DWT but it has not worked. I've looked all through the program help to see where else I might be able to specify the background-repeat attribute but can't find anything. Any help will be greatly appreciated.