none
Exchanging SAML2 token with BinaryToken using WCF RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm new to WCF and currently working with PingFederate demo product.

The basic flow is as following:

Client (.net console app) - makes authentication request on Identity Provider (using Username/Password credentials) and receives SAML2 Token in response.

The second step is exchange the SAML2 token with SP - to get lightweight sso toke (simple binary token).

PingFederate SDK provides such functionality (implemented using Microsoft.Web.Services3).

I want to implement the same flow using WCF.

I was able to get SAML2 token from IDP using WS2007FederationHttpBinding.

But when ask to authenticate on SP with issued token, in response, I see (in Fiddler) that SP sends the token but I'm getting the exception "ID3135: The element 'TokenType' with namespace 'http://docs.oasis-open.org/ws-sx/ws-trust/200512' has value 'BASE64BINARY' which is not an absolute URI."

As I understand I need to add support for BinaryToken (Custom security token) but I didn't find tutorial / explanation on such flow for the client (there are a few examples for ASP.NET) but not much information for client side implementation.

Any help on this topic is highly appreciated.

Thursday, February 4, 2016 10:07 AM

All replies

• You can subclass the UserNamePasswordValidator class and override the Validate method.  This will allow you to return true or false depending on whatever criteria you set, including validating custom username/password pairs stored in your database.  I believe that there's a sample in the SDK demonstrating this.