none
Visual Studio 2015 - Error: class not registered

Question

• Good afternoon

I hope this is the right place for this query.  I'm new to SSAS and have the 2015 developer edition to work through a workbook i have purchased.  When i open a Dimension > Data Source View > Show Tables > [Select table] > OK, i'm getting error "Class not registered (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80040154 (REGDB_E_CLASSNOTREG)).

I've spent the morning scouring the web and have install OWC.EXE for 2003 but this has not resolved the issue.  There are other solutions which i'm not technically qualified to understand and wondered if someone from the MSDN community could help or provide a more definitive answer.

Windows 10, Office 2013, SQL Server 2016 Developer, VS 2015 Community.  The version of the cube is AdventureWorks2008R2.

Many thanks.

• Moved by Sunil Hurkadli Wednesday, September 14, 2016 8:58 AM Not Related to VSTS
    Tuesday, September 13, 2016 12:06 PM

Answers

• Hi Weiwei

I did a little more searching and chanced upon a 64-bit installation conflicting/using a 32-bit component:

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-gb/library/dn876712.aspx

You can't run SSIS packages in 32-bit mode after you upgrade to SQL Server 2016 Release Candidate 1 (RC1)

Issue and customer impact: You can't run SSIS packages in 32-bit mode after you upgrade to SQL Server 2016 Release Candidate 1 (RC1) from SQL Server 2012, SQL Server 2014, or an earlier Community Technology Preview (CTP) or Release Candidate (RC) version of SQL Server 2016. Trying to run a package in 32-bit mode fails with an unexpected exception or error. This problem occurs when you try to run a package by using the 32-bit version of dtexec.exe, and also when you try to run a package in the SSIS Catalog with the 32-bit runtime option enabled.

This problem does not occur when you do a clean installation of SQL Server 2016 Release Candidate 1 (RC1).

Workaround: To work around this issue, do the following things.