confused on getting dropdownlist working on foreign key RRS feed

• Question

• User300685930 posted

I'm working with the standard (vs2008sp1) dynamic data project.  I've created a datacontext that hast two tables.  Company and CompanyType.  Company key has a foreign key to companytype and when I run my scalffolding, it shows me a dropdownlist for the companytype as I would expect. 

When I create my own simple page and use GridView, DynamicDataManager and the Dynamic Controls, I can't seem to get the dropdown.  Just the actually companytypeId.  I'm new to this and am probably missing something simple.  I've been trying to follow the msdn example at: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc488554.aspx

Here is my code.

<%@ Page Language="C#" %>

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

<script runat="server">

protected void Page_Init(object sender, EventArgs e)

{

DynamicDataManager1.RegisterControl(GridView1);

}

</script>

<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">

<head runat="server">

<title></title>

</head>

<body>

<form id="form1" runat="server">

<div>

<asp:DynamicDataManager ID="DynamicDataManager1" runat="server"

AutoLoadForeignKeys="true" />

<asp:LinqDataSource ID="LinqDataSource1" runat="server"

ContextTypeName="DataClassesDataContext" Select="new (id, CompanyTypeId, Name)"

TableName="Companies">

</asp:LinqDataSource>

<asp:GridView ID="GridView1" runat="server" AutoGenerateColumns="False"

DataSourceID="LinqDataSource1">

<Columns>

<asp:DynamicField DataField="id" HeaderText="id" />

<asp:DynamicField DataField="CompanyTypeId" HeaderText="CompanyTypeId" />

<asp:DynamicField DataField="Name" HeaderText="Name" />

</Columns>

</asp:GridView>

</div>

</form>

</body>

</html>

Saturday, October 4, 2008 2:25 PM

All replies

• User660823006 posted