none
Require help with simlpe text commands RRS feed

• Question

• Hello.

I'm fairly new to Small Basic. I have written a simple program, to allow me to store contacts, and then search for them when typing in the name. The issue I have, is I have to specifically type in the exact name to find the contact. Is it possible to have abbreviations, or at least, have a list of more than 1 name for the same contact, so if I type in all the different names I've listed, it will find the relevant contact.... rather than creating a whole new contact just for the shorthand version of the name.

And example of what my code looks like is this:

friends["Legal And General"]["Name"] = "Legal And General"

So in this situation, I have to type the whole name. I want to be able to type L&G or LandG or other alternatvies, to find the same contact.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks! :)

Wednesday, July 21, 2010 10:46 AM

Answers

• If we go with your "Is it possible to have abbreviations, or at least, have a list of more than 1 name for the same contact", that would be easy.
    Just add anoter variable, like:

friends["Legal And General"]["NameAbreviation"] = "L&G"

Otherwise, you will need to use methods in the "Text." object. to break down the search crieria, identifying what you are really trying to search for, and then break down the Name field/variable to match the parts.
    http://smallbasic.com/smallbasic.com/doc/?id=17&language=

Hmmm...  I could have sworn there was a "Left", "Mid", and "Right" method, but the information on the link I provided doesn't show those.  Maybe something has changed, or am I thinking of Excel, Access, or some other programming language?

Anyway, to search for a shorthand version of something is a little tricky.  Computers are literal and you have to use literal logic to tell the computer how to (seemingly) be not so literal.