none
Save before/after print RRS feed

• Question

• Microsoft Word 2013 - Is it possible to save a document read only in a specific location only if it has been printed?

I have been trying to intercept the Print Event but as I have no programming experience I have not been able to make it work.

If possible I would either like the document to be saved before it is printed, or if the document has been printed make it so the file cannot be closed until it is saved.

Friday, May 12, 2017 10:20 AM

All replies

• Hi KevinW88,

Since this forum is discussing and asking questions about the Visual Basic programming language, IDE, libraries, samples, and tool, and your issue is more related to word for developer, I will move this thread to the more related forum.

Thanks for your understanding and support.

Best Regards,

Cherry

MSDN Community Support
    Please remember to click "Mark as Answer" the responses that resolved your issue, and to click "Unmark as Answer" if not. This can be beneficial to other community members reading this thread. If you have any compliments or complaints to MSDN Support, feel free to contact MSDNFSF@microsoft.com.

Monday, May 15, 2017 9:13 AM
  • Hi KevinW88,

please try to refer suggestions below.

-> Microsoft Word 2013 - Is it possible to save a document read only in a specific location only if it has been printed?

there is no method and property to check whether document is printed or not.

so here as an work around we can try to use "DocumentBeforePrint" event.

this event get execute before printing the document.

so at this stage we can one bookmark in the document that will work as a flag and we can check this bookmark later to know whether document is printed or not.

below is an example of that.

Option Explicit

Public WithEvents oApp As Word.Application

Private Sub oApp_DocumentBeforePrint(ByVal Doc As Document, Cancel As Boolean)
        ActiveDocument.Bookmarks("DocWasPrinted").Delete
        With ActiveDocument.Bookmarks