none
System.Data.SQLClient Does not exist - Xamarin RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to Xamarin and I am trying to create a simple cross platform app that talks to the database using ADO.NET.

To do this I need to use "System.Data.SqlClient;" in the code.

I am trying to code into the "MainPage.xaml.cs" file in the Shared folder but it says "System.Data.SqlClient;" doesn't exist but if I go to the "MainPage.xaml.cs" file in the UWP folder I am able to use "System.Data.SqlClient;"

Is there something I'm missing? Why can't I use it in the Shared Folder?

Wednesday, April 18, 2018 11:29 AM

Answers

• You'll need to add a reference for System.Data

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help, this will help others who are looking for solutions to the same or similar problem. Contact via my Twitter (Karen Payne) or Facebook (Karen Payne) via my MSDN profile but will not answer coding question on either.
    VB Forums - moderator
    profile for Karen Payne on Stack Exchange, a network of free, community-driven Q&A sites

• Marked as answer by patreilly Thursday, April 19, 2018 8:54 AM
    Wednesday, April 18, 2018 12:45 PM

All replies

• You'll need to add a reference for System.Data

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help, this will help others who are looking for solutions to the same or similar problem. Contact via my Twitter (Karen Payne) or Facebook (Karen Payne) via my MSDN profile but will not answer coding question on either.
    VB Forums - moderator
    profile for Karen Payne on Stack Exchange, a network of free, community-driven Q&A sites

• Marked as answer by patreilly Thursday, April 19, 2018 8:54 AM
    Wednesday, April 18, 2018 12:45 PM
  • Are you using a .NET Standard project? AFAIK there is no PCL support for System.Data.SqlClient so you would need to update your Xamarin Forms to .NET Standard. See the below link: