GroupMembershipActivty not creating automatic instance RRS feed

• Question

•  

One of the applications we work on depends on the following feature of HealthVault as described in http://blogs.msdn.com/b/healthvaultdatatypes/archive/2008/08/18/using-the-group-membership-types.aspx

"The GroupMembershipActivity type is used to provide information back to the sponsoring organization. When a user authorizes an application that has rights to create GroupMembershipActivity instances, the HealthVault platform will write a special instance of the GroupMembershipActivity to the user’s record, and set the Activity property to “RecordAuthorizedForApplication”.  The application may write additional instances of GroupMembershipActivity as desired."

Specifically, we depend on GroupMembershipActivity instances being auto created.  I have a master app and 3 child applications configured.  All the applications has Read, Update Create rights to GroupMembershipActivity.   I have problem with one application id that it does NOT create the automatic instance of Group Membership Activity.

I have verified that

a.  The HV auth journey shows group membership activity as one of the data types being authorized.

b.  The application id passed is correct

c.  Neither the HV shell nor Xray shows presence of Group membership activity instance for this application.

d.  Tried with multiple records.

Any thoughts on what the issue could be?

Raj HealthVault Developer Tool http://xray.getrealconsulting.com
    Thursday, June 17, 2010 10:23 AM

Answers

• Hello Rajesh,

I have got an update from the development team. For applications with online permissions to the GroupActivityType, an instance of this type will be added by platform during app-auth.  App-auth is an online process so the creation uses online permissions. At present, for the GroupActivity to work, it should be present in the Online rules.