none
Having to reboot computer in order to run macros RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to writing macros, so maybe there is something I'm doing wrong. or maybe there is something wrong with my software.

I have a report I'm building that involves 3 files - 2 data files (.xlsx) and the report builder file (.xlsm).  The Report Builder files has connections to the 2 data files and it has a query in it that does a join between the two files.

The Report Builder file also has macros that run.  The weird thing is that I have to save, close the .xlsm file and reboot my computer then reopen the file and run the macros before they will run.  If I don't the macro doesn't run when I click the Run button. Actually, it seems to run for a split second as I can see the text "running" in MS VBA, but then it stops. This is so frustrating.

Is there something I'm missing? Can one not go from queries to macros?

There are no mistakes; every result tells you something of value about what you are trying to accomplish.

• Edited by run4it Wednesday, February 26, 2020 10:40 PM
    Wednesday, February 26, 2020 10:36 PM

All replies

• Hi,

I suppose they cannot give/suggest an answer, unless you provide your code.
    It would be the best for you to share your the report builder file (.xlsm) via cloud storage such as OneDrive, Dropbox, etc.

Regards,

Ashidacchi -- http://hokusosha.com

Thursday, February 27, 2020 12:21 AM
  • the macro doesn't run when I click the Run button. Actually, it seems to run for a split second as I can see the text "running" in MS VBA, but then it stops. This is so frustrating.

Is there something I'm missing? Can one not go from queries to macros?