Unit testing for beginners? RRS feed

• Question

• I haven't found any beginner articles on how to use unit testing in VB. I'm not even sure exactly what it is (well, I understand the general idea). I'd love for some info or pointers for how to use this technology to help me write more robust code. Can anyone out there help me? Keep in mind that I'm not a enterprise developer working on an n-tier scalable system, in a large scale team environment, blah, blah. Just an intermediate level coder that writes his own small scale stuff.

Thanks!
    Wednesday, March 1, 2006 5:28 AM

All replies

• Why do you think you need to do 'unit testing'?
    Wednesday, March 1, 2006 1:04 PM
  • It's not that I need to. But my code gets bugs creeping in as it gets more complex and gets more difficult to debug as it grows, and from what I understand, that's exactly what unit testing is meant to prevent.
    Wednesday, March 1, 2006 4:03 PM
  •  aburstein wrote:
    ... from what I understand, that's exactly what unit testing is meant to prevent.

. That's pretty funny, actually.

What Jack said are great resources. However, things can get mighty expensive using Team Suite to test a single or (several) programs.

Don't kid yourself, though. I have witnessed first hand a team of people using such tools (a few years ago), and still produced a buggy program (it crashed on the users desktop often). Complaints were ignored, since they had tested the program in all ways possible, in a rigorous manner: there weren't any bugs (mind you, I'm pretty cynical about such things - don't write buggy code in the first place: write every routine as if it's going to be used by a moron who wants to see your program die in flames).

Oh, and Jack: a Bugs Layer? Is that like sweeping them under the rug?

Thursday, March 2, 2006 12:18 PM
  • The links were helpful. Thanks. I actually only had a chance to go through the first one, but it was worthwhile, and gave a good intro.