Kinematics using VPL RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,
    I am new to robotics studio and I'm trying to control the Kuka simulated robot in MSRS so that I could type in D-H parameters and have the robot give move to the Cartesian point within the virtual world but I don't know how to write the program in VPL to perform this. Can anyone please give me some advice?
    Thanks
    Monday, May 12, 2008 7:21 PM

Answers

• You should still look at the sample code for our book. Chapter 8 has a simulated Lynx L6 arm and Chapter 15 covers the real L6 arm. The forward and inverse kinematics calculations are embedded in the services and everything is written in C#. That should provide you with a starting point. However, the code is for V1.5. You can migrate it to V2.0 without too much trouble, but we are not going to offer a download until the final release of V2.0.

I don't understand why you would have problems with the mouse in MSRS V1.5. It has nothing to do with mice.

Quaternions are not too scary. Look them up on Wikipedia. The MSRS Simuator uses them extensively.

If you want to change the number of links, you will have to write some C# code anyway. This is not something that I would even attempt in VPL.

Trevor

Friday, May 16, 2008 5:39 AM

All replies

• Once you have a LBR3 in the VPL diagram, you can use the GetEndEffectorPose and SetEndEffectorPose operations to control it. The pose consists of an Orientation (which is a Quaternion) and a Position (3D coordinate).