How can a UserControl reference controls from another UC? RRS feed

• Question

• User695775321 posted

I have a single ASPX page (it's not a MasterPage). On this page is a UserControl that basically consists of a GridView. Within this GridView are a couple other UserControls. The problem that I'm having is comunicating back and forth between the UC's. How is this done? The UC that contains the GridView is where most of the driving code is. I'm pretty new to ASP.Net and I'm quite certain that I'm lost in this code...which really isn't that much. Unfortunately, this application is setup so that the Debugger can't be used so I can't step through code like I normally would. I don't know why it's that way.

Friday, August 24, 2018 1:45 PM

All replies

• User475983607 posted

User controls are just classes.  Classes expose information through properties and methods.   A good example is the TextBox.Text property. 

Since ASP Web Forms is event based, it is common to read properties in response to an event like row binding.  ASP also has the FindControl method which can be used to find a server control within another server control container.  

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/3731007/using-findcontrol-to-find-control

I've found that many folks on the forum implement user controls when there is no good reason.  Then they run into problems like this because they need to write more code to expose data to the outside.   Be sure that you are not over complicating the code. 

Secondly, not being able to debug is odd.  IF you are running this project locally on development machine then make sure you have the solution configuration set to debug mode and not release.  There's a "Solution Configuration" dropdown in the main VS toolbar.

Friday, August 24, 2018 1:59 PM
  • User695775321 posted