Use same datasource for 2 Gridviews? RRS feed

• Question

• User-1063839557 posted

I have a gridview that is working as intended, and the SQL query was written by someone one else.  I have been asked to take one of the items returned in that query - Check List - and separate it from the other items.

I thought I would be able to copy and paste the gridview and query, rename them, and filter for Check List only.  I used the Query builder to do this, but the new gridview still returns all the items instead of just the gridview.

Is this possible?  I am sure there is an easier way to do this but like my name indicates, I am a Noob, and the person who wrote the query is not available to help.

Thanks!

The attached code is copied from the first instance of this query.  The only thing different between the two (other than being named different) is I used the query builder to filter on Check List.

<asp:SqlDataSource ID="sdschecklistonly" runat="server" 
                        ConnectionString="<%$ ConnectionStrings:MYConnectionString %>" 

SelectCommand="SELECT tblContractDocuments.FileName, tblContractDocuments.ContractDocument, tblContractDocuments.ContractNumber, tblGradeCrossingContract.DOTContractSID, tblContractDocuments.ContractDocumentType, tblContractDocuments.ContractDocumentID, tblContractDocumentTypes.ContractTypeID, tblContractDocumentTypes.ContractTypeName FROM tblContractDocuments INNER JOIN tblGradeCrossingContract ON tblContractDocuments.ContractNumber = tblGradeCrossingContract.ContractNumber CROSS JOIN tblContractDocumentTypes WHERE (tblGradeCrossingContract.DOTContractSID = @DOTContractSID) AND (tblContractDocumentTypes.ContractTypeName = 'Check List')">
                        <SelectParameters>
                            <asp:Parameter Name="DOTContractSID" />
                        </SelectParameters>
                    </asp:SqlDataSource>

Monday, January 10, 2011 10:03 AM

Answers

• User-1083922933 posted

hi

you're almost there