[UWP][C++] Platform::ClassNotRegisteredException - In-process references to applications are not supported in tests. RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,
    I'm relatively new to unit testing and I'm having a rather difficult time getting a Universal Windows Unit Test Project up and running with an existing Universal Windows Project code-base. 

So far I have :

• created a Univeral Windows Unit Test Project and added it to my solution,
    • added a reference to the UWP project in the unit test project,
    • updated the linker's include & using directories to point at my UWP project's source files.

For now, I'm trying to test a static singleton that verifies user inputs, and some of my tests look a little like this.

TEST_METHOD(Signup_CreateSignupVerifier)
    {
    	// check that the GetInstance function returns something
    	auto sv = SignupVerifier::GetInstance();
    	Assert::IsNotNull(sv);
    }

TEST_METHOD(Signup_Username_TooShort)
    {
    	// check that the username fails if it is less than 5 characters
    	Assert::IsTrue(SignupVerifier::GetInstance()->usernameIncorrectLength("foo"));
    }

But both of these tests fail with the error 
    Message: Unhandled WinRT Exception : Platform::ClassNotRegisteredException
    Please check if test is taking reference from an Application. In-process references to applications are not supported in tests.

I'm having a hard time Googling this problem. Am I just going about this the wrong way? If anyone has any suggestions on how to get a test like this working, or has any references that they can recommend to help get me up and running I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks,
    ~Kyler

• Edited by Kyler Mulherin Monday, October 17, 2016 11:04 PM changed the wording a little.
    Monday, October 17, 2016 11:02 PM

All replies

• Hi Kyler,

Thanks for your post.

>>Message: Unhandled WinRT Exception : Platform::ClassNotRegisteredException