none
Entity Framework POCOs Database First RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to Entity Framework, and I am trying to work with POCOs. It seems that most of the tutorials on POCOs also involve Code First, something that is not applicable to me, because I already have a DB. I’d be grateful for any pointers. 

My problem is that I get an InvalidOperationException.“Mapping and metadata information could not be found for EntityType 'EFFTrial.LocalAccess.Product_Listing.”

I basically got a EDMX Model to connect to a Local DB, and it worked. Next, I copied the Generated Code from the *Model.Designer.cs to another *.cs file in the Project. I then set the Code Generation Strategy to None. I then create a Context Class as below.

public class LocalDB : ObjectContext
        {
            public const string ConnectionString = "name=LocalEntities";
            public const string ContainerName = "LocalEntities";

public ObjectSet<Product_Listing> OpenList;

public LocalDB() :  base(ConnectionString, ContainerName) 
            {
                OpenList = CreateObjectSet<Product_Listing>(); //InvalidOperation!!
            }
        }

I get the above exception when it hits the constructor CreateObjectSet.

I’m sorry I have no clue what I am doing wrong. I’d appreciate any pointers to debug this.

Thursday, March 6, 2014 10:25 PM

Answers

• You are confused about what POCO means, at least in the context of EF. That is "Plain Old C# Objects", also known as "Persistence-Ignorant" classes.  They are just plain .NET types without a special superclass or any database stuff embedded in the class definitions. 

Whether you are using POCOs and whether you are using generated code are unrelated.

You can have generated POCOs, or hand-written POCOs. You can even have hand-written POCOs with an existing database, although few people do this since you would have to modify your data model in two places.