How Do I call Multiple Tasks OnGet with Dependent Parameters on Razor Pages? RRS feed

• Question

• User-939035612 posted

I am new to Razor pages and it looks to me like the closest thing to the Load event in a web form in OnGet in a Razor page. I can return the results on a async tasks from service classes unless one of those tasks depends on the results of the first. 

Here is what I mean. Sorry if this make no sense but I am learning the .Net Core syntax and methodologies and trying to describe the result I am looking for.

Here is my current Index Model

public IndexModel(PostsService postService)
            {
                PostService = postService;
            }
            public PostsService PostService { get; }
            [BindProperty(SupportsGet = true)]
            public Posts Posts { get; set; }
            public IdentityUser IdentityUsers { get; set; }
            public object Context { get; private set; }
            public void OnGet()
            {
                int? id = Convert.ToInt32(RouteData.Values["id"]);
                Posts = PostService.GetSinglePost(id).Result;
                string userid = Posts.Userid;
                IdentityUsers = PostService.GetUserbyId(userid).Result;
            }

This works great if I substitute Posts.Userid with the the userid in quotes "XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX" so I know that PostService.GetUserbyId(userid).Result works. The problem is that I get an object reference not set to an instance of an object error for Posts.Userid. It seems that Posts.Userid is not getting the userid from Posts even though it should get the Posts result before getting the Userid from those results.