VS2008 Basic Problem - Adding a dataset to an WM project gives Custom tool error: Failed to generate code. Object reference not set to an instance of an object RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

I'm completely new to SD development so please excuse me if I'm being an idiot.

I'm using VS2008 SP1.  I've installed Windows Mobile 6 Professional SDK Refresh.

If I create a new WM project (New Project | Smart Device | Windows Mobile 6 Professional SDK / CF 3.5 / Device Application).

Than Add New Item | Data | DataSet I immediately get an error "Custom tool error: Failed to generate code. Object reference not set to an instance of an object".

If I drag a table onto the XSD and switch to the XSD I get loads of "Could not find schema information for the attribute 'urn:schemas-microsoft-com:xml-msdata:xxxxxx" type errors (as you'd expect given the above).

Creating a new Win32 app works as expected.

I haven't tried reinstalling VS2008 so far because I've so many 3rd party add-ins installed for Win32/ASP.Net development it would take a long time.  But if I need to I will obviously.

Any ideas please?

Many thanks

Mike

Saturday, July 9, 2011 11:38 AM

Answers

• Hi Jesse

Thanks for replying.  I tried that but didn't help.

I tried re-installing but still no joy.

I eventually found a thread from David_Clarke on social MSDN - thanks David  :-)

Solution was as simple as doing a devenv /resetskippkgs

Best wishes

Mike

• Marked as answer by Jesse Jiang Wednesday, July 20, 2011 8:38 AM
    Saturday, July 16, 2011 12:22 PM

All replies

• Hi Mike,

I suggest you to run the Visual Studio in the Safe mode, so that it can disable some effect of third-part add-ins.

You need run the Visual Studio in Command line with Devenv.exe /SafeMode

I hope my suggestions can help you to solve this problem.

Best regards,

Jesse

Jesse Jiang [MSFT]
    MSDN Community Support | Feedback to us
    Get or Request Code Sample from Microsoft