Should I use prism? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am new to Silverlight and want to start off with best practices.  Since I don't have any experience with Silverlight not using Prism 4, can someone tell me if Prism 4 is worth using?  What about Expression Blend SDK?

Thanks!

Mei

Friday, August 5, 2011 4:49 PM

Answers

• IN my opinion the honest (sounds a bit like a coward, but definitely not so!!) answer is: it depends on the intended scope, complexity and foreseen practical use of your application. Prism gives perfect guidelines (look here and here) to assist you when developing large scale applications that need maintenance, team-work and so on. It is a matter of proper architecture more than anything else.

In words of the MSDN documentation of Prism by the makers:

Prism is intended for software developers building WPF or Silverlight applications that typically feature multiple screens, rich user interaction and data visualization, and that embody significant presentation and business logic. These applications typically interact with a number of back-end systems and services and, using a layered architecture, may be physically deployed across multiple tiers. It is expected that the application will evolve significantly over its lifetime in response to new requirements and business opportunities. In short, these applications are "built to last" and "built for change." Applications that do not demand these characteristics may not benefit from using Prism.

So good luck with your decision. make it seriously (as I expect you will, given the fact that you consider this upfront) but don't expect miracles out of Prism by itself. You're in charge!