none
32 bit app and new 64 bit sql server database(formerly 32 bit database) connectivity

Question

• I have a 32 bit VB 6 app that connects to a SQL Server 2005 database (created on a 32 bit machine) that has been running fine for years on clients 64 bit servers using the DSN created with the syswow64 folder and odbcad32.exe file. 

My question is this:  I am rewriting the database in SQL Server 2014 on a 64 bit machine and am wondering if the same DSN created above will work for the SQL Server 2014 database connecting to the 32 bit VB 6 app?  I am not a server expert by any means and wondered if the SQL Server 2014 database would have a problem connecting for clients.  Any thoughts greatly appreciated.  

Thursday, December 6, 2018 5:52 PM

All replies

• If its a 32 bit application and 32 bit DSN you created it should still work. I hope driver you installed is compatible with SQL 2014 otherwise you've to get compatible version installed

Please Mark This As Answer if it solved your issue
    Please Vote This As Helpful if it helps to solve your issue
    Visakh
    ----------------------------
    My Wiki User Page
    My MSDN Page
    My Personal Blog
    My Facebook Page

Thursday, December 6, 2018 5:58 PM
  • A DSN is defined on the client system, and a client system's bitwidth (or even endianness) is totally irrelevant to the server it connects to.  Servers like MS SQL (running on a remote host) implement their own data protocols, so the only thing you'd have to worry about is whether your version of Windows can create a DSN that's compatible with the protocol used by whatever version of MS SQL you're connecting to.

Stuff like SQL Server is usually kept backward compatible, so unless that old protocol had some massive security flaw and that flaw wasn't discovered/patched out while your old system was still getting updates I can't think of any reason  why it wouldn't work.