none
SQL Express 2008 R2 / WES7 / OOBE generalize question RRS feed

• Question

• I'm having problems generalizing a WES7 64 bit image that includes SQL Express 2008 R2. I am new to the embedded game so it is likely that I am going about this the wrong way - I'd appreciate a kick in the right direction. Here's my problem.

I build the image on the target machine based on an answer file I created in Image Configuration Editor. When the target machine boots up, I give it a name (e.g. \\DEVELOP). I then install SQL Express 200R2 from the setup kit I downloaded from the Microsoft web site. This means that SQL was installed on the machine whilst it was called \\DEVELOP

I then run SYSPREP/OOBE/Generalize so that I can clone the image out to my production machines. When the production machine goes through its first time boot, it asks me to give the machine a name - which of course will be different to \\DEVELOP. For this example, let's call it \\PRODUCTION

My problem is that the generalize procedure does not migrate all the SQL settings to point to \\PRODUCTION. When I look through the registry, I can still see lots of references to the machine called \\DEVELOP. As such, my application software (that uses SQL as its database) fails as it is still pointing to the \\DEVELOP machine name. 

Here's my question - am I doing something wrong? I want to be able to produce a cloneable image with preinstalled software including SQL Express 2008 R2, run SYSPREP/OOBE/Generalize and have that image work OK when the production machine is given a name by the end user when they deploy it in their environment.

Can anyone help please?

Thanks

Thursday, July 4, 2013 7:41 AM

All replies

• To avoid providing another computer name, you should use an sysprep unattended file. The unattended file should answer the OOBE screens that popup like user accounts, time zone, language, etc.