none
Trouble with an update query. RRS feed

• Question

• I may not be able to do what I'm attempting but figured I would ask the experts anyway.  I'm currently assigning work to be completed in Access via a "CID".  When a rep enters their particular CID in a text box on a form, it will return a query with all work that has been assigned to them.  What I'm attempting to do is select the records where the CID is null and then do an update.  The issue I'm running into is I want to break the records down and not select all. 

So for example: There are 400 records and 4 reps.  I want to assign each rep 100 of the 400 records.  I know I must do this by rep but I would like to create an expression to do so.  I can get the select query to return me the top 100 records based on all criteria met but the second I change that exact select query to an update query, it reverts back to all records.  I'm fairly new to writing my own queries, so please assist if possible or share a simpler way to achieve what I'm attempting. 

Thank you!

• Edited by B_D_P Tuesday, July 5, 2016 11:19 PM
    Tuesday, July 5, 2016 11:18 PM

Answers

• I do have a separate ID Field that is set to auto number.
    Provided your are happy with the top n arbitrarily being in ID order you can do it quite easily on that basis, e.g. in my RowNumbering demo to update the top 5 of the rows with a value <= 10 GBP:

UPDATE Transactions
    SET TransactionAmount = TransactionAmount+1
    WHERE TransactionAmount <= 10
    AND DCOUNT("*","Transactions", "TransactionAmount <= 10 AND TransactionID <=" & [TransactionID]) <=5;

Ken Sheridan, Stafford, England

Wednesday, July 6, 2016 4:46 PM

All replies

• While the Top predicate exists for Select queries, it does not for Update queries.