none
Query between two Datatables RRS feed

• Question

• Hello

I'm very new to using Datasets and Datatables so forgive my ignorance; I have extensively searched through the forums but am having problems working out the best way forward. I have two Datatables in an application which are derived from an SQL Data Connection using stored SQL queries. The two tables are dtIncrementComplianceManagers and dtIncrementCompliance. 

At run time, I need the application loop through the rows of dtIncrementComplianceManagers and each time create a new datatable which contains all the rows in dtIncrementCompliance that share the ManagerEmail field with the current row in dtIncrementComplianceManagers . This would be used to compose an email to the manager regarding their staff and the application would then move on to the next manager. 

As an SQL query it would look like this 

SELECT A.* 
    FROM dtIncrementComplianceas A, dtIncrementComplianceManagers as B 
    WHERE A.ManagerEmail = B.ManagerEmail

I'm not sure how to user a query of the existing datatables to populate a new table. This is where it would be located:

Public Sub RunManagerEmails()
            Me.DtIncrementComplianceManagersTableAdapter.Fill(Me.HRRecruitmentDataSet.dtIncrementComplianceManagers)
            Me.DtIncrementComplianceTableAdapter.Fill(Me.HRRecruitmentDataSet.dtIncrementCompliance)
            For Each Row As DataRow In HRRecruitmentDataSet.dtIncrementComplianceManagers.Rows
                <-----NEW CODE TO GO HERE---->
            Next Row
        End Sub

Any help would be much appreciated. 

Tuesday, March 17, 2015 6:28 PM

Answers

• Hello Leo,

>>I'm not sure how to user a query of the existing datatables to populate a new table. This is where it would be located

You could use LINQ to DataSet which has a similar syntax with SQL query:

LINQ to DataSet

In your case, you could perform a JOIN operation:

Query Expression Syntax Examples: Join Operators (LINQ to DataSet)