Download xlsx file from server using Javascript. RRS feed

• Question

• User-179964413 posted

Hello ,

I work in a SPA . View is in JS and view model is in c#.

The requirement is that the user will upload an excel file and the application need to validate it and then upload its content in to the Datatabase . I am new to MVVM model so I was not completely aware about it .

I completed this functionality in the following way

1. User selectes the respective excel file.

2. I will send the filpath of the excel file from the Javascript to the Controller ( c#) . There I will try to access that file, validate it using c#.

3. The rows which fails the validation are highlighted in Yellow and the description of the error is added as a comment in the cell . All this was possible in c#.

This worked fine when I ran the source code from my local machine . But When I deploy it in the site . It didnt work as I understood that the applicaiton is actually searching for the file path in ther server where the Website is deployed instead of the client system.

As a quickfix , I thought of copying the excel file from the client system to the server , process the file and copy it back to the client system .

Is this possible ?

This is an urgetn fix :( .Please suggest me by providing your ideas . Appreciate your help .

Thanks,

Bk

Wednesday, July 6, 2016 7:57 AM

Answers

• User-821857111 posted

I use jQuery to manage this. The following line of code should be added to whatever event handler you want to cause the download:

$('<iframe src="/URL_to_Excel_File"></iframe>').appendTo('body').hide();

So if you wanted the download to happen on page load:

$(function(){
    });

Or on a button click:

$('button').on('click', function(){
    });

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Monday, July 11, 2016 8:15 AM

All replies

• User-821857111 posted