Error 400 Bad Request when deploying application to Azure RRS feed

• Question

• Hello all,

I'm trying to deploy a LightSwitch 2011 application to Windows Azure. I already created the Cloud Service, Storage Account and migrated the SQL Database (as it is an external db).

When I try to publish the application from Visual Studio 2010 to Windows Azure, the following error is prompted:

I'm quite new to LightSwitch and Azure, so I have no clue what could be happening.

I already checked that my IP is set in the Database Firewall exceptions on Azure.

EDIT: I've been trying to get some more info with fiddler, but no error appears in the sessions screen. The last transaction returns a 200 OK message, then Visual Studio prompts the error.

Monday, August 12, 2013 2:47 PM

Answers

• Ok, at the end I was able to find the solution for this issue.

My problem was I was having a mess with the certificates in Azure and the ones referenced in the config files of the application. At the end I figured it out how to configure them all - you almost need a special degree for that ;).

Just for the record, the best way to troubleshoot the publishing of an application to a Cloud Service is to manually deploy the applciation from the Azure Management Portal itself. At least it gives a lot more information in case of failure than in the Visual Studio Wizard.

• Marked as answer by Marc Jordana Monday, September 16, 2013 12:41 PM
    Monday, September 16, 2013 12:41 PM

All replies

• Hi Marc

According to the error message above, this is a general error message when we deploy LightSwitch application to Windows Azure. For this issue, I can hardly give precise troubleshooting. I'd like to suggest you to re-do your publish process, at the same time there is a document about publishing a LightSwitch Application to Windows Azure, and you could refer the publish procedures, and check whether you miss something, perhaps it can give some tips to troubleshoot,