running a .NET app on a linux OS and apache server RRS feed

• Question

• User1396030708 posted

hello everybody,

I'm a beginner with .NET stuff and I would like to run some tests on VERY simple apps that I have written.  but I have been told by goDaddy personnel that if I want to test .NET apps on linux OS running on an apache server then it should not contain any ASP or ASP.NET code because that is the only .NET language that is forbidden to run in that environment.  Is that correct?  I've created numerous projects/solutions with VS 2019 and some of them indicate that ASP.NET is part of them when I hit the "create" button for a template on the home screen and some do not.  Is it true that all .NET apps need to incorporate ASP or ASP.NET to some degree in order to work?  I kind of believe this is true because every website I've ever gone to that is obviously running a .NET web app shows .ASPX file extensions on every page I visit.  Is my thinking correct here?   thanks!

Adam

Sunday, December 22, 2019 5:11 PM

Answers

• User-474980206 posted

classic .net (up to version 4.8), only runs on windows. and asp.net required IIS to host.

There is a mono project to port .net to linux, and it has an linux hosting via apache. to run mono with apache requires installing the mono hosting module in apache (few isp's do this, you would need to use a vm).

Microsoft also has a cross platform version of .net and asp.net called core. to host on linux with apache requires apache be a reverse proxy to the installed asp.net core application which is normally run a daemon. again few isp's support this hosting model, unless you use a virtul machine

aspnet core can also be hosted as docker image. this is probably the most common approach for isps.