none
Buttons don't seem to be working? RRS feed

• Question

• I have been trying to create a small game where you press a button to go forward, back, left right, etc. My goal is to have a picture displayed, and then when you press forward the picture switches to a new one. Except when I press the button, nothing seems to happen. Im just starting out at Small basic, and I guess I just must be missing something. Any help? Here is my code:

b1 = Controls.AddButton("Forward", 10, 10,)
    b2 = Controls.AddButton("Back", 10, 50)
    pic = "C:\Users\John\Documents\My Games\other\Tunnel3.jpg"
    pic2 = "C:\Users\John\Documents\My Games\other\3707988218_6b9c192459.jpg"
    Sub OnButtonClicked

Button= Controls.LastClickedButton

If Button = b1 Then
        GraphicsWindow.DrawResizedImage(pic, 20, 20, 20 20)
      EndIf
      If Button = b2 Then
        GraphicsWindow.DrawResizedImage(pic2, 40, 40, 40, 40)
      EndIf

EndSub

Sunday, April 15, 2012 2:08 AM

Answers

• Welcome aboard Demosthenes466!

You just forgot to activate the button event to use your Sub OnButtonClicked. It means OnButtonClicked() is never invoked!
    And CodingLikeCrazy, Controls.GetButtonCaption() got nothing to do with that. It's just an alternative way to access buttons using their captions, and thus, no need to assign variables to them when they are created.

So Demos, I've slightly modified your code so you can see how it works. Here it comes:

Path = "http://ximages.net/images/"       '  Since I don't have your local pics, using ones from this site   ;-)
    pic1 = Path + "28930020147868715423.png"
    pic2 = Path + "03515726579119112960.png"

Controls.AddButton("Forward"  10,10)
    Controls.AddButton("Back"     10,50)

Controls.ButtonClicked = OnButtonClicked   ' <----  You forgot this! It turns on the button click event

Sub OnButtonClicked

Button= Controls.GetButtonCaption( Controls.LastClickedButton )  '  Alternative way using button's caption

If Button = "Forward" Then