none
Multi user access RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I am new to programming in a multi user environment.

Can anyone advise on how to achieve the following:

More than 1 user can access a table and add records at the same time. Each record must be assigned a unique document number. This data must be saved in the table.

I have tested this in a sample database. I have set the record locking to "Edited Record". I have written code to, as soon as a user opens the form, it goes to the last record and increment the document number by 1, then immediately writes this number to the table with a SQL statement. When the user clicks the "Save" button, another SQL statement then updates that specific record with the entered data.

This seems to be working to a certain extend, but I still encounter clashes when 2 users enter the form at the same time. Sometimes the same number is allocated to both users, resulting in the data of the last user to exit the form, to overwrite the first save from the first user that exited the form. Or the document number is duplicated in the table.

Is there maybe somewhere a small sample database which does this?

Thanks

Deon

Tuesday, July 14, 2015 12:45 PM

Answers

• You are currently using the DocNumber column as an encoding system.  This is not good relational database design as it violates Codd's Rule #2, The Guaranteed Access Rule:

'Every datum (atomic value) in a relational database is guaranteed to be logically accessible by resorting to a combination of table name, primary key value and column name.'

I'd strongly advise that you split the column into its three components.  As the first two represent date parts, if the table already includes a date column you won't need these at all as the year and month are easily extracted from the date.  I assume that the serial number begins with 1 per month per year.