none
Laptop best for Kinect Development RRS feed

• Question

• Hi to all,

I am a rookie in Kinect development I have lots of questions but to highlight a few,..

1. Is kinect V2 same as the Kinect for Xbox one being sold at gaming stores?

2. Any specific laptop best for Kinect development?

Thanks!

Monday, June 27, 2016 7:47 AM

All replies

• 1. Yes(though to use with PC you also need to buy the Adapter For Windows)

2. I have used Alienware laptops with Kinect and they were very good. You should check out the recommended system requirements and try to find something that satisfies all of them.

Monday, June 27, 2016 9:36 AM
  • 1. Almost, Kinect for Windows (v2) has been discontinued to make way for the functionally identical Kinect for Xbox One. Its only real difference was that you didn't need an Adapter. But that Kinect also did not work with Xbox One. Probably the main reason it got discontinued.

2. Probably Microsoft laptops if you want to be safe. At least I assume you get more support from Microsoft if you have their base hardware.

[edit] @NPatch new post. But it does seem that "kinect v2" is understood as Kinect for Windows if you search for it on Bing and look at the images.

• Proposed as answer by Yanis Lukes Saturday, July 9, 2016 1:01 PM
    • Edited by Yanis Lukes Sunday, July 10, 2016 1:06 PM v2/Xbox One
    Saturday, July 9, 2016 12:14 PM
  • 1. Almost, Kinect (v2) for Windows has been discontinued. Its main difference was that you didn't need an Adapter. But that Kinect also did not work with Xbox One. Probably the main reason it got discontinued

V2 is the version of the sensor itself and the SDK by extension. Has nothing to do with the adapter or the lack of it.The sensor itself for Xbox One is V2.Which is why I replied with just Yes ;).

And even if he had somehow gotten the discontinued sensor, its still the same as the Xbox One sensor in terms of version, capabilities etc.