datasets and autonumbers RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to using datasets with servers, and have a question about their capabilities regarding child tables.  Say I have a dataset containing a parent table and child table (the child table has a column for referencing the parent ID #'s), and I want to insert this dataset into a SQL Server db.   When uploading, the parent entries will be getting to an autonumber ID assigned by the sql server database.  Assuming I have the intertable relations correctly set up in both my datasets and database, is it possible to upload both tables in one batch, such that the uploaded child entries will automatically properly reference the parent autonumber ID's?  Since both sides understand the relationships, I don't see that any extra coding will be necessary.

(The other solution I guess would be to create a insert parameter so that the dataset gets back the autonumber value when I insert my parent table, and then the ID # gets propagated to the child datatable, assuming the references are set up.  I'm just wondering if I have to do this or if datasets can figure this out without any intervention.)
    Thursday, July 2, 2009 10:09 PM

Answers

• Marked as answer by Chris Robinson- MSFT Thursday, July 2, 2009 11:27 PM
    • Unmarked as answer by Tekito Monday, July 6, 2009 9:27 PM
    • Marked as answer by Tekito Wednesday, July 8, 2009 1:18 PM
    Thursday, July 2, 2009 11:05 PM
  • Okay, now I tried the table adapter 'Update' instead of the 'InsertQuery' method above, and it does appear to be propogating back.  This is what I meant by there seemed to be more than one method option.  I don't know why the InsertQuery method explained in my last two posts would fail though.  So I'm still somewhat confused, and still going to be playing with this some more.  If there are no more surprises then maybe the issue is solved.

• Proposed as answer by Chris Robinson- MSFT Tuesday, July 7, 2009 8:44 PM
    Tuesday, July 7, 2009 2:47 PM