EF 4 question - model different from database schema RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to EF 4. One of the things that appealed to me when I started learning EF was the statement "In the Entity Framework , you can define the conceptual model, storage model, and the mapping between the two in the way that best suits your application." You will see this statement repeated over and over again in anything written about EF.

The problem is that it doesn't seem to be true.

I started with a "toy" database (Brian Noyes' TaskManager database from the WCF RIA Services walkthrough). This db has a TimeEntry table with non-nullable datetime columns. Now, when the user adds a time entry, I don't want to provide default values for these columns; I want them to be null and force the user to enter values. Then, when the user tries to commit the new record, they should get a validation error if the required fields aren't filled in. Simple, solution, I thought: Make them nullable in the conceptual model.

Wrong. Then I get: Error 3031: Problem in mapping fragments starting at line 336: Non-nullable column TimeEntry.StartTime in table TimeEntry is mapped to a nullable entity property.

So the most trivial difference between the conceptual model and storage model is not supported? This is a showstopper. Our in-memory model (that the user directly edits) is ALWAYS different from our storage model, because the essence of editing is working with partially invalid data until you're done and ready to save. At that point, you have to resolve validation errors. (IOW, the path from one valid state to another may take you through one or more invalid states, and that's just fine.)

Oh, and I can't remove columns from my conceptual model either (if they are non-nullable in the database). What if that entity in my c-model is read-only, and I don't care about inserts and updates?