Can someone help me fix my code? RRS feed

• Question

• I’m new to this whole visual basics thing and I am trying to make a text in a textbox show when I click a button and then make the same text reappear when I press the same button. Please help me fix this. Thank you!

The code I put that doesn’t work is: 
    Private Sub Button9 Click (sender As System.Object, e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button9.Click 

If TextBox1.Text = Visible=True Then
       TextBox1.Text = Visible = False 
    Else
        TextBox1. Text = Visible = True
    End if 

End sub
    End class

Saturday, September 12, 2020 1:57 AM

All replies

• I’m new to this whole visual basics thing and I am trying to make a text in a textbox show when I click a button and then make the same text reappear when I press the same button. 

One way:

Static Dim str As String = TextBox1.Text
    If TextBox1.Text = str Then
        TextBox1.Text = ""
    Else
        TextBox1.Text = str
    End If

- Wayne

Saturday, September 12, 2020 5:02 AM

• The code I put that doesn’t work is: 
    Private Sub Button9 Click (sender As System.Object, e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button9.Click 

If TextBox1.Text = Visible=True Then
       TextBox1.Text = Visible = False 
    Else
        TextBox1. Text = Visible = True
    End if 

End sub

You will get an error from your code as TextBox1.Text is a String and
    Visible is a Boolean Property. So the expression:

If TextBox1.Text = Visible = True

is invalid as it attempts to compare (or assign) a Boolean to a String.

You would get the same error with the reduced statement:

If TextBox1.Text = Visible

With Option Strict off, your code will compile but will get an error at
    run time. With Option Strict on, your code will get both Intellisense and
    compile errors.

The Visible property of controls is used to make the control itself visible
    or not. It's not used to make the *contents* of a control visible/invisible.