none
Cannot set permissions to code group RRS feed

• Question

• I'm studying for the 70-536 exam and having difficulty setting up a codegroup with proper permissions.  I'm successful in setting up a codegroup but no matter what permission set I give to my code gorup the permissions always show "Unrestricted" when I evaluate assembly.  Actually, the assembly doesn't even recognize the code group...more on that....

First, I tried file://127.0.0.1/C$/MyAssemblyName.exe then read something about it on the internet that the framework may not recognize loopback address (something like that).  The codegroup would NEVER be recognized.  So, what I did was sign the assembly and used the strongname as the membership condition for the codegroup and finally the codegroup was recognized!  BUT, when I evaluated the assembly it STILL shows "Unrestricted" even though I set the permission set to something different for my new code group.

So, I'm at least past the codegroup issue (although I don't understand why I can't use the "file" and need to depend on strongname), but I still can't get permissions to work.

Any ideas?  I'm having difficulty working through these labs and if I can't get things to work then I'll obviously not be adequately prepared to answer questions for the exam.

Thanks in advance!
    Joe Kehnast
    Sunday, March 14, 2010 3:05 PM

Answers

• Hi,

You can use the .NET Framework Configuration tool (Mscorcfg.msc) to c hange the permission set associated with an existing code group :

1.  Run the .NET Framework Configuration tool (Mscorcfg.msc). At the command prompt, type the following:

%Systemroot%\Microsoft.NET\Framework\versionNumber\Mscorcfg.msc

2. Expand the Runtime Security Policy node.

3. Expand the node for the policy level that contains the code group you want to modify.

4. Expand the Code Groups node, and then expand the tree under the All_code node.

5. Right-click the appropriate code group and select Properties.