Access File from Upload Control in RowCommand in VB (From a GridView) RRS feed

• Question

• User-1822443940 posted

I'm having a lot of frustration implementing this and can't seem to find any good answers (or at least none in VB). I'm not really good at translating C# to VB, and I didn't see my answer from the stick note in this section (https://weblogs.asp.net/davidfowler/getting-your-data-out-of-the-data-controls). With that said...

WHAT I'M TRYING TO ACCOMPLISH

I have a gridview named gvALL_ACCESS. For each row in this gridview, I have an upload control and then a button (in the same column). I would like the button to call a command via the gvALL_ACCESS_RowCommand() function that will take the information (the file) from the upload control and upload it to a database.

WHAT'S NOT WORKING

I'm having trouble figuring out how to access the file data from within the gvALL_ACCESS_RowCommand() function. Specifically, I need to get the file in such a way that I can assign it to a stream datalike this:

Using fs As Stream = My.File.Data

MY CODE SO FAR

ASPX

<asp:GridView ID="gvALL_ACCESS" runat="server" AutoGenerateColumns="False" DataSourceID="SqlDs_ALL_ACCESS"
    	 OnRowCommand="gvALL_ACCESS_RowCommand" AllowSorting="True">
    	<AlternatingRowStyle BackColor="LightGray" HorizontalAlign="Left" />
    	<EditRowStyle HorizontalAlign="Left" />
    	<RowStyle HorizontalAlign="Left" />
    	<Columns>
    		<asp:BoundField ControlStyle-Width="150" DataField="USERID" HeaderText="USERID" SortExpression="USERID" >
    		<ControlStyle Width="150px" />
    		</asp:BoundField>
    		<asp:BoundField ControlStyle-Width="200" DataField="FULLNAME" HeaderText="NAME" SortExpression="FULLNAME" ReadOnly="true" >
    		<ControlStyle Width="200px" />
    		</asp:BoundField>
    		<asp:TemplateField HeaderText="COL FILE">
    			<ItemTemplate>
    				<asp:FileUpload ID="FileUpload1" runat="server" />
    				<asp:Button CommandName="UploadCOLFile" Text="Upload" runat="server"/>